Select Page

District History

The founding of the Jacksonville Rotary Club in 1912 signaled the beginning of District 6970. The District now comprises 64 clubs, 4 satellite clubs, 17 Rotaract clubs and 44 Interact clubs strong, serving 31 Northeast Florida communities in 12 counties with over 3,200 men and women. District 6970 takes pride in the Rotarians from the District who provide a tradition of leadership to the Rotary world. Together, we see a world where people unite and take action to create lasting change – across the globe, in our communities, and in ourselves.

District Boundaries

The 8 Districts of Florida are shown in the map below. District 6970 comprises the 12 counties in northeast Florida.

Rotary International District 6970, also known as “Florida’s Crown District,” is made up of the 12 counties in Northeast Florida:

Alachua, Baker, Bradford, Clay,
Duval, Flagler, Marion, Nassau,
Putnam, St. Johns, Union and Volusia.

District 6970 consists of more than 64 Rotary Clubs (as of July 1, 2023) with approximately 3,200 Rotarians.

There are eight Rotary Districts in Florida.

In recent years the districts have been working collaboratively. The most notable result of this collaboration is Rotary Florida PETS, a statewide multi-district training seminar for incoming club presidents of the approximate 500 clubs in Florida. Rotary Florida PETS is planned and implemented by the eight District Governors-Elect each year, leading to strong bonds of friendship and cooperation between these Rotarians.

Map of Districts in Florida