Select Page

Awards Committee

Awards Committee Members

The Awards Committee works closely with the District Governor to develop and administer programs that recognize excellence in Rotary District 6970. Additionally the Awards Committee is a resource for information about District, Zone and Rotary International recognition, including the Rotary Citation. 

All Rotary and Rotaract Clubs are encouraged to attain the Rotary Citation. The Rotary Citation with Presidential Distinction recognizes clubs with exemplary performance in categories prioritized by the RI President.

Rusty Hall
St. Augustine Sunrise
District 6970


Application process is open for 2023-24. Nominations due by April 1, 2024.

Each year we ask you as Rotarians of District 6970 to show your pride and nominate our members (from your club or another in the district) who have gone above and beyond to demonstrate continued leadership in Rotary and our communities. D. Brent Williams and Al Watson both serve as symbols of the best of Rotary. Please take the time to recognize your outstanding colleagues for their leadership. 

John Tabor, District Governor 2023-24


Honorees from District 6970

Rotary International’s Service Above Self Award is the highest honor for an individual Rotarian.

This award recognizes Rotarians who have demonstrated exemplary humanitarian service, especially those who have helped others through personal volunteer work and active involvement in Rotary.

YearHonoreeRotary Club
2020-21Hanora (Nonie) LarsonFleming Island
2019-20Ed LaceyDeland
2018-19 Padraic (Pat) E. MulvihillNorth Jacksonville
2016-17Norberto BenitezArlington
2015-16  William ‘Bill’ GriffinDaytona Beach West
2014-15Dr. Randall B. CatonGainesville
2013-14 David T. SlickOrmond Beach
2012-13 Joel Ray MooreNorth Jacksonville
2012-13Claudio Spiguel (D4560)Gainesville
2011-12James BurtJacksonville
2010-11Willette Shaeffer-CrabtreeArlington
2009-10 Shirley BrowderDaytona Beach West
2006-07 Richard AllenGainesville
2006-07Andrea Thorpe, M.D.Daytona Beach West
2005-06Edsel ReddenPalatka Sunrise
2005-06Ben Campen Gainesville
2004-05H. Robert Overly, IIIWest Jacksonville
2003-04Peter FontanaSt. Augustine Sunrise
2002-03 Albert TooleJacksonville
2002-03Charles ‘Cholly’ M. Capps(D6990)New Smyrna Beach
1998-99 William SchniederNew Smyrna Beach
1995-96Hugh H. Jones, Jr. Southeast Jacksonville
1994-95Roger M. HehnJacksonville
1993-94E. T. York, Jr Gainesville


2021 – 2022  |   Marshall Butler, RC of West Jacksonville
2020 – 2021  |   Roseanne Stocker, RC of Flagler Beach
2019 – 2020  |   Nonie Larson, RC of Fleming Island
2018 – 2019  |   Kelly Altosino-Sastre, RC of Ponte Vedra
2017 – 2018  |   Jeff Hart, RC of Ponte Vedra Beach Sunset
2016 – 2017  |   Rich Turnbull, RC of St. Augustine Beach
2015 – 2016  |   Ben Campen, RC of Gainesville


2022 – 2023    |  Bill Budzinski, RC of Downtown Deland
2021 – 2022    |  Mary Stutts, RC of Jacksonville Oceanside
2020 – 2021    |  Tim O’Donnell, RC of Flagler Beach
2019 – 2020    |  Karen Weiss, RC of Deland
2017 – 2018    |  Howard Kelley, RC of Jacksonville
2016 – 2017    |  Bruce Barber, RC of Ponte Vedra Beach
2010 – 2011    |  William “Bill” Gay, RC of West Jacksonville
2009 – 2010    |  Elwood Titcomb, RC Deland
2008 – 2009    |  Al Watson, RC of Keystone Heights


2020 – 2021 Mingo Bingo Award Recipients

2019 – 2020 District 6970 Area of Focus Award Recipients

2018 – 2019 District 6970 Club and Individual Award Recipients

2017 – 2018 District 6970 Club Award Recipients

2016 – 2017 District 6970 Award Recipients

2015 – 2016 District 6970 Award Recipients

2012 – 2013 District 6970 Lifetime Service above Self Recipient